Pulp Occult Detectives

Image

I don’t normally approve of the “compile & repackage public domain works” approach to publishing. Seriously, how many more HP Lovecraft compilations do we really need? It makes me think of these kinds of books as the literary version of those cheap 50 film DVD packs you can buy at Wal-Mart. However, every now and then my snarky attitudes are thrown a curve ball, and projects like “Pulp Occult Detectives” comes around. These books are all $0.99 on Amazon Kindle and I have to say, I’m excited and happy about having purchased all of them. Yes I know, I was taken in by the flashy and awesome artwork displayed above… (even that is cheap knock off style, because for each volume they just change the color of the same ding-dang image, cheap bastards)… but I had to! The authors they were compiling & re-packaging aren’t the usual suspects (HP and Robert E. Howard for example), and after some wikipedia research I admit that I was hooked, so picked them up. Granted, its easy to sell me pulp fiction, I’m a sucker for it (raised on Conan & Cthulhu), but I think this is one of those instances where the cheap knock-off publishing tactic has actually done some good. 

Check them out on Amazon

Leave a Reply

